Layered Pages

me-iiThis week has been interesting so far. What I mean by that is, I haven’t really had much time for reading but been collecting books and adding new ones to my reading pile. I know I keep saying I will catch up and post reviews soon. “Yeah, right!” Ha! Yes, I will when I get my brain on straight again. Anyhow, my sister is in town this week so at least I can use that excuse right now. We are having a great time! Going to an Atlanta Braves Game this evening in the new Stadium. It’s always good to see her. We are always up to something. We are even planning a big week long beach for the end of September. The whole family is going this time I think. Although we don’t live in Florida anymore, we are Florida Natives and the beaches are calling us yet again…

View original post 617 more words

David's Book Blurg

Title – Minnesota: Her Account; Her View
Author – Nick Knardirell
Genre – Crime Fiction
Length – 226 Pages
Publication – Sept 2015

My Rating – 5/5 Stars

Synopsis

Groomed by her father to one day take over the Family business, Fuada ruled with an iron fist. Undermined by her brother and betrayed by her right hand man, she finds herself backed into a corner. Murders, informants, mistaken identity and the purposeful mistakes of her brother create an unquestionable trail that lead straight to her. Controversial, conflicted, secretive, narcissistic, arrogant and prideful are a few words that describe Fuada Busticnam. While narrating the story of her life from prison, she journeys through her past to discover why she landed there.

Review

Minnesota is quite a hard-hitting story from the start. It’s a tale of a young girl groomed from a very young age to take over the family business. Not everyone is happy with the…

View original post 262 more words

Giselle Roeder

How the h… did I get interested in “pigs”? I’ll tell you! It took me five years to find a “Family Doctor” (regular doctor) when I moved to Vancouver Island. Every medical clinic or doctor I approached “did not take new patients”. A friend told me about a Medical Centre called “The Sow’s Ear Clinic.” I was a bit – well, let’s just say, ‘disturbed’ by the name. But this place is where I ended up and became a patient of one of the doctors about a year later. I went to the ‘emergency drop-in’ one evening. I liked the doctor on duty and asked him if I could become his patient.
“I don’t take new patients. I have about two hundred regulars and that is enough for me.”
He checked my present problem and I mentioned a recent sinus operation that had gone wrong. He was curious and asked…

View original post 593 more words

Layered Pages

me-iiStarting now through the summer I will be choosing and featuring books here from the indieBRAG Library that I an interesting in reading.  Not only will I feature them, I will talk about why I chose them as well. IndieBRAG’s mission is to discover talented self-published authors and help them give their work the attention and recognition it deserves. Their primary focus is fiction across a wide range of genres; however, they selectively consider non-fiction books.

Authors, if you feel your book can meet indieBRAG’s high standards, they encourage you to nominate it, but they cannot make any guarantees that it will pass either the initial screening or the subsequent review by their readers. On average, only 10-15% of the books they consider are awarded the B.R.A.G. Medallion and are presented on their website and promoted on varies social media sites. Conversely, they do not make public the titles…

View original post 398 more words

Layered Pages

Cover Crush bannerI am not a cover designer but I can agree that cover layouts play an important role in the overall presentation of stories and I must admit, often times I first judge a book by its cover.

The Last Valentine by Felix AlexanderThe Last Valentine by Felix Alexander

Published February 13th 2017 by ForeverPoetic

When Olivia Villalobos finds a bloodstained love letter she endeavors to deliver it before Chief Inspector Sedeño finds it in her possession.

A city along the southern coast of Puerto Rico emerges in the aftermath of the Spanish-American War. Olivia, daughter of a drunkard police investigator who never knew the truth behind her mother’s disappearance, finds a bloodstained love letter in the hidden compartment of her father’s coat. Convinced it belonged to the man recently found dead she sets out to deliver it to the Labyrinth of Love Letters. A mysterious place believed to be an urban legend where the transients…

View original post 206 more words

Layered Pages

Cover Crush bannerI am not a cover designer but I can agree that cover layouts play an important role in the overall presentation of stories and I must admit, often times I first judge a book by its cover.

The Thousand Lights HotelThe Thousand Lights Hotel by Emylia Hall

Pub Date 13 Jul 2017

THE THOUSAND LIGHTS HOTEL is the gorgeous new novel from Emylia Hall, author of Richard & Judy Summer Pick THE BOOK OF SUMMERS. Set in idyllic Italy, it’s the perfect holiday read, for fans of Louise Douglas and Hannah Richell.

When Kit loses her mother in tragic circumstances, she feels drawn to finally connect with the father she has never met. That search brings her to the Thousand Lights Hotel, the perfect holiday escape perched upon a cliff on the island of Elba. Within this idyllic setting a devastating truth is brought to light: shaking the foundations upon which the hotel…

View original post 281 more words

David's Book Blurg

Hi all,

Well as some of you will know I’m recovering from an issue with my wrist, something to do with cartilage and the nerve being aggravated..so these means I’m trying to take it easy for a little while.

This has lead me perfectly to posting some guest blogs/excerpts I’ve been holding on to!

First up is a excerpt from Mestlven by author Jesse Teller!

Here’s the blurb

Revenge, Insanity, and the Bloody Diamonds

Meredith Mestlven was abused and betrayed by her nobleman husband. After a desperate fit of retaliation, she fled for her life and lost her sanity. Now nearly 20 years later, she returns to her home at Sorrow Watch to destroy her enemies and reclaim her jewels. How far will she go to satisfy her revenge? Dark, cunning and beautiful, Mestlven will win your heart or devour your mind.

Would you like to read to read a bit…

View original post 795 more words