Author Margaret Porter’s Five Top Reads

Posted: March 8, 2016 in Uncategorized

Layered Pages

During the past 6 months I was on a reading binge. Partly because I was travelling for pleasure and book promotion. Also because I’ve been in a heavy research phase for a novel, and sought out a variety of books for pleasure and entertainment. My choices are not in ranked order of preference.

H is for Hawk

H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald

So many close personal friends were telling me, “You have to read this book! You will love it! This book reminded me of you!” I have had some less than wonderful experiences with recommendations. As a very selective reader (aren’t we all?), I’m never quite sure whether to trust other people’s impressions of what I would like. I was on book tour shortly after this nonfiction memoir was released, and I saw it prominently displayed in the stores where I was signing my novel Several times I heard Helen MacDonald…

View original post 1,195 more words

Leave a Reply

